Tournament Results 2012

The 304th Recorded Meeting in the 340th year of The Society of Archers
held at St George’s Archery Ground,

Hookstone Drive, Harrogate, North Yorkshire HG2 8PT
on Saturday 19th May 2012

The Clerks Report

This years shoot was held at St.John Fisher School, Harrogate on the 19th day of May 2012. The day was cold and damp. 93 archers entered, with 76 of them carrying the longbow.

The Lieutenant Graham Smith called the Gentleman to order and the Captain Clive Woolley gave a warm welcome to all. The Clerk and Judges gave their usual short but succinct address.

Shooting got underway at 10.30am prompt with the Captain and Lieutenant taking aim with their longbow and recurve respectively. Neither the black spot or red were scored leading to the rest of the archers shooting. It was quickly established at the first end scoring that the Lieutenancy had been won by Steve Holmes, shooting in his first Scorton.

Several ends came and went before the black spot was finally hit by longbowman Geoff Rhodes. Much congratulating and hand shaking took place before the judges signalled the continuation of shooting.

Following the regulatory two hours of shooting the judges called a halt to the morning session, with lunch taken in the school. A warming soup, yorkshire beef and ale lunch was washed down with the usual ample supply of wine.

The meeting was again kept to a minimum with members agreeing to the acceptance of the proposed changes to The Articles without too much disagreement.

The afternoon shooting commenced shortly after with a further two hours well marshalled by the judges. The usual good humoured banter between archers was present together with the increasing weight of the swearbag as the afternoon went by.

After tea the Trophies were presented to the deserving winners. The Captain’s presentations were made to the Lady Scorers, and the usual bottles to the two judges, all done graciously by the Captain’s Lady.

The meeting was rounded off by the retiring Captain passing his thanks to all those involved in the organisation of the day.

Judges: Mr Denis Heritage & Mr Sean Gleeson

The Scorton group of Trophies
Captain of the ArrowGeoff Rhodes
Lieutenant of the ArrowSteve Holmes
The Horn Spoon for Worst WhiteLez Newsome
The Scorton Longbow Group of Trophies
The Ben Hird Sword for most Hits, LongbowAdrian Hayes
The Alain Holt Ladle for Highest Score, LongbowMartin Jordan
The North Ribblesdale Spoon
for Best Longbow Arrow at the 1st end after lunch
Alan Cowie
The Tri-Centenial Trophy for most Golds,LongbowClive Wooley
The Thirsk Insignia for Yorkshiremen – born within the County
The Silver Arrow & Gold Quiver, for Highest ScoreGraham Smith
The Thirsk Bugle for most HitsMark Hayes
The Thirsk Silver Medal for Best GoldGeoff Rhodes
The Subscription Trophies
The Gold Medal for the Captain of NumbersGraham Smith
The Gold Medal for the Highest ScoreMark Hayes
The Phillips Cup for the Best Gold of the MeetingGeoff Rhodes
The Sweepstakes
Best GoldGeoff Rhodes
Second BestKeth Nicholson
Third BestPeter Croft
Most GoldsGraham Smith & Dereck Wilcock
Second Most
Third MostCraig Benson
Proceeds of the Swear Bag£


We also had the pleasure of the company of:
Adam Abbott (L)., Chris Broad (R)., Derek Brown (L)., Neil Dimmock (L)., Ernest Green (L).,
Colin Greenway (L)., William Spencer (L)., Ron Nuttall (L).,David Lewis (L).,

and John Catley (L)., Colin Dawson who shot two arrows to compete before retiring.

Finally Mr John Owen (Nonagenarian) who entered but did not shoot.

Minutes of the 304th Meeting – 19 May 2012

The Captain, Clive Woolley, asked those present to be up standing for the Loyal Toast. Gentlemen archers, who had shot the bow with the Captain in the morning, were asked to remain standing whilst guests retired from the room.

The Captain then proposed the toasts to The Society and The Arrow, The Captain and Lieutenant Elect and absent friends.

The Lieutenant, Graham Smith, read the minutes of the 303rd meeting. These were accepted as a true record, with the Captain duly signing the Record Book.

Apologies for absence were received from Graham Hawley, Duncan Fairbrother, Michael Dixon, Neil Makin, Steve Matthews, Paul Dean & Jonathon Revell.

The following matters were discussed:

  • The Clerk reported the Loyal Message and White Rose had been sent to Her Majesty, The Queen, and a reply had been received.
  • The Society of Archers Commemorative bench was presented to the village of Scorton on 20 July 2011, to mark the 300th Recorded Meeting and in appreciation of the work the village had done to support that meeting.  Thanks were expressed to Philip Rolls for organising this.
  • The accounts for The Society were presented for agreement. It was explained there were no costs shown for the 2010 calligraphy as this had been undertaken at no cost by a member of the Scorton Archery Club.  The 2011 calligraphy costs will be shown in the 2012 accounts.
  • The 10 Proposed changes to the Articles, which had been agreed in principle in 2011, and had been given in Notice to Gentlemen entered for this year, were considered.  A question was raised about the use of the term “shilling” in Article 5.  It was pointed out that some years ago it had been agreed to retain the use of the term “shilling” whilst accepting that the current coinage, of an equivalent value, would be actually used.
  • The use of the phrase “vote of No Confidence” in Article 8 was objected to, and some debate followed.
  • Votes were cast, by show of hands, on 9 of the 10 proposed changes, excluding the change to Article 8, and the result was unanimously in favour of the changes as proposed.  A further vote was taken on the proposed changes to Article 8.  A great majority were in favour of the change, with only 3 votes against the change.  All 10 changes will now be incorporated in the Articles.
  • The proposed changes to Article 27, involving the name of the trophy made from the 300th badge die, what it should be awarded for, and the dividing up of the Scorton Group of Trophies into 2 groups, namely the Scorton Trophies and the Scorton Longbow Trophies, as given in Notice, were discussed.  A vote was taken on accepting the proposed changes to Article 27 in principle, and there were a significant majority in favour of the changes as proposed.  These will now be taken to a final vote in 2013 after due Notice.
  • The outgoing Captain, Clive Woolley then presented the Captain and Lieutenant elect, with their Captain and Lieutenant badges.

There being no further business the meeting was closed at 14.52.

Also in the year 2012

Monarchy: Her Royal Majesty Queen Elizabeth II

Prime Minister: David Cameron – Conservative Party
in a coalition government with the Liberal Democrats
leader, Nick Clegg as Deputy Prime Minister


The Antient Silver Arrow