Tournament Results 2011

The 303rd Recorded Meeting in the 339th year of The Society of Archers
held at Spen Valley Sports College, Liversedge, West Yorkshire WF15 7LX
on Saturday 21st May 2011

The Clerks Report

The 21st day of May 2011 dawned bright, sunny but windy. Gentlemen archers assembled at Spen Valley Sports College for the shooting of the 303rd Recorded Meeting of the Antient Scorton Silver Arrow.

Ten pairs of targets lined the field to accommodate the ninety one gentlemen, of whom sixty five carried the longbow.

Shooting got underway at 10.30am prompt with the reigning Captain, Paul Tucker and Lieutenant, Drew Stapleton, taking aim with their recurves.

A sign of relief was heard across the field as neither of them managed to hit. With both the black spot and best red unclaimed following the first end gentlemen took aim up the field. It soon became apparent that both the black spot and red had been hit, with Clive Woolley taking the Captaincy and Graham Smith the Lieutenancy. Many congratulations were offered to Clive for having achieved the black spot with his longbow at his first Scorton meeting.

The remainder of the two hours passed in sunny but testing conditions with the usual good humoured batter between the gentlemen archers.

A fine luncheon was taken with the usual free flowing wine.

After a reletively short meeting shooting treciommenced at 3.20 for a further two hours.

The presentation of the trophies was carried out by the Captain’s Guest of Honour, with the retiring Captain giving his thanks to all those involved in the organisation of the day.

Judges: Mr Denis Heritage & Sean Gleeson

The Scorton group of Trophies
Captain of the ArrowClive Wooley
Lieutenant of the ArrowGraham Smith
The Horn Spoon for Worst WhiteDereck Wilcock
The Scorton Longbow Group of Trophies
The Ben Hird Sword for most Hits, LongbowAdrian Hayes
The Alain Holt Ladle for Highest Score, LongbowPatrick Revell
The North Ribblesdale Spoon
for Best Longbow Arrow at the 1st end after lunch
Alan Cowie
The Tri-Centenial Trophy for most Golds,LongbowDavid Aikin
The Thirsk Insignia for Yorkshiremen – born within the County
The Silver Arrow & Gold Quiver, for Highest ScoreGraham Smith
The Thirsk Bugle for most HitsDereck Wilcock
The Thirsk Silver Medal for Best GoldLewis Mitchell
The Subscription Trophies
The Gold Medal for the Captain of NumbersGraham Smith
The Gold Medal for the Highest ScoreDereck Wilcock
The Phillips Cup for the Best Gold of the MeetingLewis Mitchell
The Sweepstakes
Best GoldLewis Mitchell
Second BestGraham Smith
Third BestGeoff Walker
Most GoldsGraham Smith
Second MostDereck Wilcock
Third MostMick Winsett


We also had the pleasure of the company of:
Adam Abbott (L)., Paul Beck (L)., Derek Brown (L)., Neil Dimmock (L)., John Owens (L).
and Danny Cameron with shoulder in a sling but shot one arrow
so he could take part.

Minutes of the 303rd Meeting – 21 May 2011


Also in the year 2011

Monarchy: Her Royal Majesty Queen Elizabeth II

Prime Minister: David Cameron – Conservative Party
in a coalition government with the Liberal Democrats
leader, Nick Clegg as Deputy Prime Minister


The Antient Silver Arrow