Tournament Results 1996

The 288th Recorded Meeting in the 324th year of
The Society of Archers
held at Elland, West Yorkshire
on Saturday 18th May 1996

The Clerks Report

On 18 May 1996, 89 Gentlemen assembled at Elland for the 288th Recorded Meeting of the Society of Archers in a fairly mild spell of weather.

The Lieutenancy was determined in the first end, the arrow of Dave Morris being the best Red. Later the Captaincy was won by Peter Davies, for the second time.

Shooting continued for the period of two hours when luncheon was taken followed by the Annual Meeting of the Society.

The afternoon shoot was followed by the presentation of the Trophies by the Captain’s Lady Mrs Lewis Mitchell.

Roger Crees., Clerk to the Society.

(Note: Roger Crees retired at this meeting after 28 years and was replaced by Mr Stan Shaw)


The Scorton Trophies
Captain of the ArrowPeter Davies
Lieutenant of the ArrowDavid Morris
The Horn Spoon for Worst WhiteAndrew Neal
The Ben Hird Sword for most Hits, LongbowJohn Geldard
The Alain Holt Ladle for Highest Score, LongbowGordon Aldred
The Thirsk Insignia for Yorkshiremen
The Silver Arrow & Gold Quiver, for Highest ScoreNoel Lawrence
The Thirsk Bugle for most HitsAndrew Neal
The Thirsk Silver Medal for Best GoldJohn Seddon
The Subscription Trophies
The Gold Medal for the Captain of NumbersGary Aldred
The Gold Medal for the Highest ScoreTerry Ducker
The Phillips Cup for the Best Gold of the MeetingNoel Lawrence
The Sweepstakes
Best GoldNoel Lawrence
Second BestJohn Seddon
Third BestKeith Morrison
Most GoldsNoel Lawrence
Second MostGary Aldred
Third MostJohn Seddon


We also had the pleasure of the company of:
A Flanaghan, A Turner, L E Whittaker, E Kelly, S Patterson & Mr Ramsay

Minutes of the 288th Meeting

The minutes of the 287th Meeting of the Society were read by the Lieutenant and signed by the Captain.

Apologies had been received from 11 Gentlemen. The Clerk read Her Majesty’s gracious reply to our loyal message.

A proposal had been received that the longbowmen should score in the Gold in a manner that differed from the scoring by other archers. This was cleanly defeated.

Thanks were expressed to Mr Roger Turner for his generous gift of a voucher for the raffle.

The Gentlemen wished to record their thanks and appreciation to the Ladies responsible for excellent catering under difficult conditions.

There followed a brief Meeting of the Council of Captains.

It was agreed that the retirement of the Clerk, Roger Crees be approved and that Stan Snow be appointed as Clerk to the Council of Captains.

The retiring Clerk was thanked for his 28 years in service to the Council and Society.

Also in the year 1996

Monarchy: Her Royal Majesty Queen Elizabeth II
Prime Minister: Tony Blair – Labour Party

The Antient Silver Arrow