Tournament Results 1989

The 281st Recorded Meeting in the 317th year of
The Society of Archers
was held at Scorton, North Yorkshire
on the 27th day of May 1989

The Clerks Report

Let it be recorded that 128 gentlemen assembled at Scorton on 27th May 1989 in the 317th year of the Society for the 281st recorded meeting of the Society. This number being the highest in the history of the Society, and of which 75 carried the longbow.

Shooting commenced with the Captain and Lieutenant shooting to defend their titles and Stephen Williams retained the title of Lieutenant with his first arrow. The Captaincy was won by David Moore in the first end, who was congratulated and confirmed as the Captain-Elect. Shooting continued for two hours in fine weather to be followed by luncheon. In the afternoon an item of note was the scoring of two inner Golds by Adam Abbott at the penultimate end.

Following afternoon tea, the trophies were presented by the Captains Lady, Mrs Peter Davies.

For the poor of the parish (swear box) £26.75. Donation to the Reserve Fund from Adam Abbott (2 inner Golds at the penultimate end) £6.05.

Gentlemen on the Line 128. Of those, longbows 75 (59%)


The Scorton Trophies
Captain of the ArrowDavid Moore
Lieutenant of the ArrowStephen Williams
The Horn Spoon for Worst WhiteColin Hepworth
The Ben Hird Sword for most Hits, LongbowD C Ellis
The Alain Holt Ladle for Highest Score, LongbowJ Geldard
The Thirsk Insignia for Yorkshiremen
The Silver Arrow & Gold Quiver, for Highest ScoreK Jackson
The Thirsk Bugle for most HitsStephen Williams
The Thirsk Silver Medal for Best GoldBarry Lydon
The Subscription Trophies
The Gold Medal for the Captain of NumbersStephen Williams
The Gold Medal for the Highest ScoreK Jackson
The Phillips Cup for the Best Gold of the MeetingGary Aldred
The Sweepstakes
Best GoldGary Aldred
Second BestStephen Williams
Third BestBarry Lydon
Most GoldsStephen Williams
Second MostE Woodhouse
Third MostG Aldred & K Jackson


We also enjoyed the company of J Ronald, D Stewart, J G Odd, P Scudamore and K Turner.

Minutes of the 1989 Meeting

The Captain opened the meeting by calling upon the Lieutenant to read the minutes of the 280th meeting. There were no matters arising.

Apologies have been received from E Chattaway, R Hardy, A Hole, M Fitzpatrick and B Wales. It was with regret that the deaths were noted of Sam Henderson C57, Bob Bayston C70 and Jim Melvin L86. A brooch commemorating the 250th meeting has been given to the Society by Sam Henderson, the year in which he was Captain. It has been mounted on a silver plate and affixed to the Arrow box. A complete record on slides has been presented to the Society by Esme Bayston in memory of Bob Bayston. The slides cover every page of the records of the Society.

The Clerk reported that a Gentlemen of the Society had generously offered to purchase a new Volume No.V1 and the Clerk was requested to put this matter in hand.

M Y Ashcroft, the Archivist, was thanked for his interest in the care of the Parchment and first volume of records and was asked to accept a tie and Honorary Membership of the Society.

The Reserve Fund was reported to stand at £540.54 and the matter of tax on this fund was in hand.

In a general discussion the care of our trophies and the questions of replicas gave guidance to the Council of Captains for future consideration. The Captain closed the meeting at 2.50pm.

The Antient Silver Arrow