Tournament Results 1956

The 248th Recorded Meeting in the 284th year of
The Society of Archers
held at Bradford, Yorkshire
on Saturday the 2nd day of June 1956

Bradford 2nd June 1956

The two hundred and forty eighth annual meeting of the Society was held on Saturday, the 2nd June, 1956, on Thornton Grammar School Playing Fields near Bradford, where forty four gentlemen archers assembled to compete for the Antient Silver Arrow and other prizes.

After drawing lots for targets and order of shooting, in accordance with the usual custom, the lieutenant blew on his bugle and shooting commenced in poor weather with very high wind and persistent showers.

The first item of note was the piercing of the Red by Mr Frank Newbould of Harrogate, who did pierce it with his very first arrow, thus becoming the lieutenant and holder of the silver bugle for the ensuing year.

The second item of note was the piercing of the inner Gold by Mr Gerald Dyson of Ellenthorpe Road, The Glen, Baildon, and Mr Wales of Liverpool, who both did pierce it with their twenty sixth arrow, but Mr Dyson was adjudged nearer the centre of the inner Gold, thus becoming the Captain Elect and holder of the Antient Silver Arrow for the ensuing year.

Shooting for the other trophies then continued, and after one hour the archers adjourned for lunch.

Be it remembered that at the conclusion of the luncheon the minutes of the last meeting were read, confirmed and duly signed by the retiring Captain.

Be it also remembered that Mr Frank Miles proposed a levy of one shilling on each archer, over a period of years to pay for new dies for the Captain’s and Lieutenant’s badges. This was seconded by Mr Corlett but Mr John Yates put forward an amendment proposing that future Captains and Lieutenants should be responsible for providing their own badges, and this was seconded by Mr Fred Wells and unanimously approved by the archers present.

Votes of thanks were accorded to all those persons whose help had made the meeting possible, particularly to Mr George Collinson the Recorder, and his colleagues.

After lunch shooting was resumed for two hours, and at the conclusion after tea the Trophies and Sweepstakes were presented to the winners by Mrs H R Walker, Lady Mayoress of Bradford, the Lady Paramount.

Mr John Phillips acted as Judge.


The Scorton Trophies
Captain of the ArrowGerald A G Dyson
Lieutenant of the ArrowFrank Newbould
The Horn Spoon for Worst WhiteN Q Nisse
The Thirsk Insignia for Yorkshiremen
The Silver Arrow & Gold Quiver, for Highest ScoreJ E Woodhead
The Thirsk Bugle for most HitsG A G Dyson
The Thirsk Silver Medal for Best GoldG A G Dyson
The Subscription Trophies
The Gold Medal for the Captain of NumbersA W Williams
The Gold Medal for the Highest ScoreJ E Woodhead
The Phillips Cup for the Best Gold of the MeetingG A G Dyson
Competition JudgeJ Phillips



The Antient Silver Arrow