Tournament Results 1950

The 242nd Recorded Meeting in the 278th year of
The Society of Archers
held at Ben Rhydding, Yorkshire
on the 9th day of September 1950

Ben Rhydding 9th September 1950

It is hereby recorded that on this ninth day of September in the year of our Lord, one thousand nine hundred and fifty was held the two hundred and forty-second meeting of this Society.

Be it remembered that on this day fifty gentlemen Archers assembled, this number being the greatest ever to shoot for the Ancient Scorton Arrow, and that persuant of custom, lots were drawn for order of shooting.

Be it also remembered that the commencement of shooting was signalled at eleven o’clock in the forenoon and was continued for two hours before luncheon and for two hours after luncheon.

Be it well remembered that Mr I R Walker of the Bowmen of Overdale did with his third shaft pierce the gold, thus becoming Captain and holder of the Ancient Silver Arrow. And that Mr F Wells of the Bowmen of Adel, did with his third shaft pierce the red and thus became the Lieutenant and holder of the Silver Bugle.

Be it remembered that Luncheon and the Captain’s excellent wine were enjoyed by the Company in the Pavilion of the Ben Rhydding Sports Club. At the conclusion of which the minutes of the last meeting were read, confirmed and signed.

That Mr A Wood then proposed and Mr F Bilson seconded that the distance for shooting be as laid down in Article 4 of the Society. This proposal was defeated by 32 votes to 11.

That Mr Phillips proposed and Mr Yates seconded that the resolution, with regard to the place of meeting, passed in 1926 should be altered to read “and any part of Yorkshire” instead of reading “and any part of Yorkshire and Lancashire”, This resolution was passed unanimously.

That Mr J Quin proposed and Mr P E MacKenzie seconded that all target faces should have an inner gold of three inch diameter and that the first archer to pierce this inner gold should become Captain and holder of the Ancient Silver Arrow, carried by 23 votes to 11.

That Mr C B Edwards proposed and Mr E Riley seconded, that the sweepstake on the best gold be limited to £10. This motion was carried unanimously.

That Mr J Yates proposed and Mr F Wells seconded that 20 percent of the monies from the sweepstake should be carried forward for use at the next meeting; carried unanimously.

That Mr A Wood proposed and Mr I R Walker seconded that all Captains and Lieutenants of the Arrow, past, present and future, be presented with badges, which they shall hold permanently. This resolution was carried unanimously.

That Capt. L J Sargeant proposed and Mr J H Bell seconded that the badges should be provided out of Society funds. This resolution was carried unanimously.

That Mr F Bilson proposed and Mr F Riley seconded that wine, previously provided and paid for by the Captain, should at the next, and at all ensuing meetings, be included in the cost of the meal. Carried without dissent.

Be it also remembered that a hearty vote of thanks was passed to the judge, Nr Nettleton, and that votes of thanks were also accorded to the chief scorer, Mr F Collinson, and to all those who had helped to ensue the sucess of the meeting.

Be it remembered that at the conclusion of the shooting the prizes were most gracefully presented by the Lady Paramount, Mrs K Ryder-Runton, to whom a hearty vote of thanks and three cheers were given by the archers. Hearty votes of thanks were also accorded to the retiring Captain and to Mr F Petty, who acted as a judge in the afternoon.

Be it well remembered that the weather, following days of cold wind and rain, was warm and sunny with light airs, which did much to ensure good shooting and a very pleasant meeting.


The Scorton Trophies
Captain of the ArrowMr T R Walker
Lieutenant of the ArrowMr F Wells
The Horn Spoon for Worst WhiteMr D S Young
The Thirsk Insignia for Yorkshiremen
The Silver Arrow & Gold Quiver, for Highest ScoreMr D S Young
The Thirsk Bugle for most HitsMr C Chubb
The Thirsk Silver Medal for Best GoldFrank Newbould
The Subscription Trophies
The Gold Medal for the Captain of NumbersMr F Bilson
The Gold Medal for the Highest ScoreMr J B Kiers
The Phillips Cup for the Best Gold of the MeetingFrank Newbould
Competition JudgeMr Nettleton



The Antient Silver Arrow