Tournament Results 1949

The 241st Recorded Meeting in the 277th year of
The Society of Archers
held at Ben Rhydding, Yorkshire
on the 10th day of September 1949

Ben Rhydding 10th September 1949

On 10th September, 1949, forty six archers assembled to shoot for the Ancient Scorton Arrow and other prizes.

The weather was fair but there was a strong wind. Ten dozen arrows were shot, the first red was struck by C H Bayliss (Apollo Archers) at the second end, thus becoming Lieutenant of the Arrow, the first gold was struck by A Wood (Warwickshire Archery Society) at the sixth end, thus becoming the Captain Elect.

Three archers inadvertantly used oaths and were fined. The money was sent to the Vicar of Ben Rhydding.

Each archer contributed twelve shillings and sixpence to the expenses of the meeting. The lunch was held on the ground and was ably handled by Ladies of Ben Rhydding Sports Club, excellent wine being provided by the Captain.

A general meeting was held after lunch at which the minutes of the previous one were read and confirmed. Votes of thanks were made to the following; Ben Rhydding Sports Club; particularly to the Lieutenant, the chief Scorer, Mr Collinson and his assistants H Lancaster, Mrs M Bidsall and P H Grigsby, to Mr C W Nettleton for acting as Judge, to the Lady Paramount, Lady Mowbray and Stourton.

A resolution was proposed by Captain L Sargeant “That in future, competitors must not be less than 21 years of age. This was carried by 26 votes to 14.

The Lieutenant then proposed that in future, traditional longbows and wooden arrows be used atleast until the arrow is won. This was debated with no definate result and he then asked for a Gentleman’s agreement, the meeting was adjourned before a vote could be taken.


The Scorton Trophies
Captain of the ArrowMr Anthony Wood
Lieutenant of the ArrowMr C H Bayliss
The Horn Spoon for Worst WhiteMr R Pickering
The Thirsk Insignia for Yorkshiremen
The Silver Arrow & Gold Quiver, for Highest ScoreMr W H Bailey
The Thirsk Bugle for most HitsMr Frank Newbould
The Thirsk Silver Medal for Best GoldMr E A Binney
The Subscription Trophies
The Gold Medal for the Captain of NumbersMr Frank Newbould
The Gold Medal for the Highest ScoreMr W H Bailey
The Phillips Cup for the Best Gold of the MeetingMr J H Bell
Competition JudgeMr C W nettleton


Note: The number of Gold’s failed to be recorded at this meeting


The Antient Silver Arrow