Tournament Results 1935

The 235th Recorded Meeting in the 263rd year of
The Society of Archers
held at Lancaster, Lancashire
on the 14th day of September 1935

Standing: J Flinton, W Melville-Foster, J Tattersall, H Whittaker, A G Banks, C H Nettleton, Capt. J Welch, John Phillips,
B Crewsdon, Col. A Porritt, R Sanderson
Sitting at front: John Yates, G B Adamson, Dr P Mannix, Tom Kelly, Col. J Aspinall-Turner

Springfield Park, Lancaster 14th September 1935

Be it remembered that seventeen Gentlemen Archers assembled at Springfield Park this day to shoot for the Antient Silver Arrow. That this was the 263rd recorded year and the 235th recorded meeting of the Society.

Be it remembered that shooting commenced at eleven o’clock in the forenoon and continued for two hours before lunch and was resumed at 2.15pm until 4.15pm. The weather was fine but a very strong wind did make the shooting difficult and that the arrows shot by each Archer did number but eight dozen.

Be it remembered that Mr Bernard Crewdson did pierce the red with his first arrow at the third end and thus became Lieutenant and holder of the Silver Bugle.

That Mr J W Phillips, Bowman of Pendle and Samlesbury, pierced the gold with his second arrow at the ninth end and became the holder of the Antient Arrow and Captain for the ensuing year.

Be it also remembered that luncheon was served in a tent in Springfield Park and that wine was provided by Dr P F Mannix, the outgoing Captain, according to custom. Be it remembered that the annual meeting of the Society was held after luncheon when the minutes of the last meeting were read and confirmed.

That the Chairman, Dr P F Mannix, asked for an expression of opinion as to the suitability of Samlesbury for the shoot in 1936. After Mr G B Adamson and Mr John Yates had spoken in favour of this suggestion, and it was found that the gentlemen present were unanimous, the new Captain stated that the Bowmen of Pendle and Samlesbury would do their utmost to ensure that the next meeting should be held on their ground.

According to custom the expenses of the meeting were shared by the gentlemen Archers present and a sum of four pounds was carried forward towards the expenses of the next meeting.

Be it remembered that the Silver Cup for the best gold, which was presented in 1903 by the Rev C Hutton-Coates to replace the “Robert Farrar” Cup, was won by Mr J W Phillips for the third successive year and so became his property.

Hearty votes of thanks were accorded to Mrs J W Phillips for presenting the prizes; to John O’Gaunt’s Bowmen for the use of their ground and to Mr Parker for acting as scorer.

And so ended a very pleasant day’s shoot


The Scorton Trophies
Captain of the ArrowMr J W Phillips
Lieutenant of the ArrowMr B Crewdon
The Horn Spoon for Worst WhiteCol Austin T Porritt
The Thirsk Insignia for Yorkshiremen
The Silver Arrow & Gold Quiver, for Highest ScoreThomas K Kelly
The Thirsk Bugle for most HitsJohn Flinton
The Thirsk Silver Medal for Best GoldArthur G Banks
The Subscription Trophies
The Gold Medal for the Captain of NumbersMr G B Adamson
The Gold Medal for the Highest ScoreMr B Crewdson
Cup for the Best Gold of the MeetingMr J W Phillips
Sweepstake for Most GoldsThomas K Kelly


Mrs J W Phillips presents the Silver Cup first presented in 1903 by the Rev. C Hutton-Coates to her husband J W Phillips, who winning the Cup for the third successive time, so becomes his property.
Like the Rev. C Hutton-Coates 32 years earlier who had won the previous Robert Farrar Silver Cup 3 times in succession, honourable tradition would be maintained and a new Silver Cup, would be donated by Mr J W Phillips to replace the prize and henceforth be known and called The Phillips Silver Cup

The Antient Silver Arrow