Tournament Results 1934

The 234th Recorded Meeting in the 262nd year of
The Society of Archers
held at Lancaster, Lancashire
on the 15th day of September 1934

Capt. J Coulston, R Sanderson, C Nettleton, John Phillips, John Yates, J Sanderson, Col. Aspinal- Turner
Col. A Porritt, G Adamson, C Barneby
J Tattersall, Dr P Mannix, Mrs Nettleton, Tom Kelly, W Melville-Foster

Springfield Park, Lancaster 15th September 1934

Be it remembered that on this day fourteen Gentlemen Archers assembled on the ground of the John O’Gaunt’s Bowmen in Springfield Park, Lancaster to compete for the Antient Scorton Arrow. The weather was perfect, shooting commenced at eleven o’clock in the forenoon and continued for two hours before and two hours after luncheon. Each Archer shot twelve dozen and four arrows.

Be it remembered that Dr P F Mannix, John O’Gaunt’s Bowmen, with his sixth shaft was the first Archer to pierce a gold and thus became Captain and holder of the Silver Arrow and that Captain J H C Coulston, John O’Gaunt’s Bowmen, pierced the red with his first shaft and thus became Lieutenant and holder of the Silver Bugle.

Be it remembered also that lucheon was held in a tent on the ground and the customary bottle of wine was provided by the outgoing Captain Mr Thomas K Kelly. At the conclusion of luncheon the minutes of the last meeting were read confirmed and signed.

According to custom the expenses of the meeting were divided amongst the Archers present. A hearty vote of thanks was passed to the members of the John O’Gaunt’s Bowmen for allowing the use of their ground. At the conclusion of the meeting the prizes were presented by Mrs Nettleton to whom the thanks of the Archers were duly accorded.


The Scorton Trophies
Captain of the ArrowDr P F Mannix
Lieutenant of the ArrowCapt. J H C Coulston
The Horn Spoon for Worst WhiteMr G B Adamson
The Thirsk Insignia for Yorkshiremen
The Silver Arrow & Gold Quiver, for Highest ScoreThomas K Kelly
The Thirsk Bugle for most HitsMr W Melville-Foster
The Thirsk Silver Medal for Best GoldThomas K Kelly
The Subscription Trophies
The Gold Medal for the Captain of NumbersJohn Yates
The Gold Medal for the Highest ScoreMr G B Adamson
Cup for the Best Gold of the MeetingMr J W Phillips
Sweepstake for Most GoldsMr G B Adamson


The Antient Silver Arrow