Tournament Results 1933

The 233rd Recorded Meeting in the 261st year of
The Society of Archers
held at Lancaster
on the 16th day of September 1933

Backrow from left to right: G Adamson., P Barneby., Henry Whittaker., Judge Alan Walmsley., Dr P Mannix., John Yates., W. Melville Foster., R M Phillips.
Front row: Col. A Porritt., T R Slatterthwaite., Tom Kelly., Col. Aspinall-Taylor

Springfield Park, Lancaster 16th September 1933

Be it remembered that thirteen Gentlemen Archers met, in glorious sunshine, at Springfield Park, Lancaster, to shoot for the Antient Scorton Arrow on September 16th 1933, this being the 261st recorded year and the 231st recorded meeting.

Be it remembered that shooting commenced at eleven o’clock in the forenoon and continued for two hours before lunch and commenced again at 2.15pm and continued until 4.15pm.

Be it known that Mr Thomas K Kelly pierced the target in the red with his second arrow, and thus became Lieutenant and holder of the Silver Bugle. Be it known that Mr Thomas K Kelly pierced the gold with his fourth arrow and thus became Captain and Holder of the Antient Scorton Arrow and in accordance with the rules relinguished the lieutenancy.

Be it known that Dr P F Mannix John O Gaunts pierced the red with his sixth arrow, and thus became the Lieutenant and Holder of the Silver Bugle.

Lunch was served in a tent in the Park and according to custom wine was provided by the out going Captain, Mr T Satterthwaite, John O Gaunts: the minutes of the last meeting were read and approved: the expenses of the meeting were shared by the gentlemen Archers present.

Be it remembered that a hearty vote of thanks was accorded to John O Gaunts Bowmen for use of their ground, and to Mrs Sanderson for presenting the prizes; to Mr A F Hardy for acting as judge, and to Mr Parker for acting as scorer.

And this ended a very pleasant day.


The Scorton Trophies
Captain of the ArrowThomas K Kelly
Lieutenant of the ArrowDr P F Mannix
The Horn Spoon for Worst WhiteMr R J Phillips
The Thirsk Insignia for Yorkshiremen
The Silver Arrow & Gold Quiver, for Highest ScoreThomas K Kelly
The Thirsk Bugle for most HitsMr W Melville-Foster
The Thirsk Silver Medal for Best GoldThomas K Kelly
The Subscription Trophies
The Gold Medal for the Captain of NumbersJohn Yates
The Gold Medal for the Highest ScoreMr P B Barneby
Cup for the Best Gold of the MeetingMt J W Phillips
Competition JudgeMr A F Hardy


The Antient Silver Arrow